Tabs FAQs

To read an overview of our Tabs feature, please click here.

How do Tabs work?

When guests first place their order, they will have the option to start a tab. A tab makes it possible for multiple guests in a group to order and pay on a single card (or multiple cards). Tabs removes the need for guests to pay after every item they order, and it allows guests to send orders simultaneously to be paid by the same tab.

How can I see the tabs my guests have started?

  • From your Store Overview page click the new “View Group Tabs” button to see all of the tabs created.
  • This screen shows you the status of all of the tabs, the tab owner details, the limits and the current order total. If the tab has closed, click on the Tab ID to view the tab receipt.

mceclip0.png

How do I get the tab receipt?

  • Tab owners will receive the full tab receipt if they have entered their email address on the Tab Management screen.
  • If you need to find the receipt, go to the Group Tabs page and click on the Tab ID for the relevant tab. This will be blue if the tab is closed and there is a receipt available.

Can I see who added items to the tab?

  • The receipts are split out by orders and the name of the person who placed that order. Great for when your friends are going to pay you back afterwards! (“We know it was you who ordered the bottle of rum, Bob!”)

                                          mceclip1.png

How do tab limits work?

  • We want to ensure you get paid, and guests can rack up some pretty big tabs! So when a guest starts a tab, they will enter a limit for their tab and we will hold this amount on the card until the tab is closed. 
  • Setting a tab limit means tab owners have some control over the amount that is being spent on the tab. The limit can be topped up at any time.
  • Capturing payment for all orders at once also means your customers only see a single transaction on their bank statement, rather than one for each order.

When do held tab funds get released back to a card?

  • We hold the tab limit amount on the card used to create the tab, so that we know your customers have that money available to them. However, they will only be charged the final amount that they spend. 
  • After the tab is closed, the remaining balance will be released back to the card by the customer’s bank. This is usually within a couple of business days, but timeframes can vary depending on the bank, and can be impacted by public holidays.
  • Capturing payment for all orders at once also means your customers only see a single transaction on their bank statement, rather than one for each order.

What if someone forgets to close a tab before leaving?

  • After two hours of inactivity (i.e. 2 hours after the last order was placed), the tab will automatically be closed and the card will be charged with the total bill amount. There is no risk that you won't get paid.

Help

If we’ve missed any information or you need help with your tabs, please reach out to support@mobihq.com

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.